Current Status · Korean food · Recipes

Kimchee Fried Rice with cauliflower

I had no idea this blog was gonna be an Asian Invasion, but I guess I am just in a weird mood for Asian food. When you are eating as healthy as I am lately, you just have to do new things. This Asian kick is really helping me get over the 30 day hump of clean eating. I mean, truly the frustration is starting to build. Mostly due to the lack of results 😦 5 lbs has been lost but I thought I would be closer to 10 by now. Especially considering the work outs being consistent and the clean eating. But that’s okay. I am happy about the 5 lbs and I am just going to keep up with what I am doing. It doesn’t feel like I could be any healthier than I am. So healthy that I just ate half a free cookie and I feel kinda shitty…

I am really excited about this recipe because it is something I never thought I would get to eat tons and tons of again. Growing up, this kimchee fried rice (bokkembap) was breakfast on weekend mornings. My mom would make this for us with leftover rice and kimchee from the week. Such a hearty, fulfilling meal. If you like kimchee at all, this fried rice is going to blow your mind. Since discovering cauliflower rice at Trader Joes, I have been looking for recipes that call for white rice that I could use cauliflower instead. This and my bimbimbap (veggie meat rice bowl) are making it so easy for me to never crave rice again.

My mom didn’t always put meat in it growing up, but now that she owns a teriyaki restaurant, there is usually leftover meat somewhere in the fridge that needs to be used up. You can omit it completely or use whatever you have. Lately my mom throws in minced spicy chicken teriyaki which is pretty amazing. I used leftover bulgogi (marinated rib eye) because I had it left over from making bibimbap. I have seen versions online that use bacon too and pork belly is good in everything too.

Using cauliflower rice in this makes it completely healthy. Like with bibimbap, placing a fried egg on top makes it a complete meal. Also, before someone fears for my health due to yellow yolk melting onto my savory kimchee rice, let me just say, I have never gotten food poisoning or salmonella before 🙂 Lucky me and my Korean stomach. All that fermented food has given me a stomach of steel.

I also sprinkled some sesame seeds, green onions, and salted dried seaweed on top. And I remembered to take photos!

The leftovers of this rice was so good too. Perfect after work snack.

 

Kimchee Cauliflower Rice

Serves 4 as a side dish, 2 1/2 people as a main dish

Ingredients:

  • 2 bags of frozen cauliflower rice or one head of cauliflower, riced and steamed/boiled
  • 1/2 onion, minced
  • 3 garlic cloves
  • 1 1/2 TB of gochujang (you can leave this out if you don’t want it very spicy/strong)
  • 1 tsp sesame oil
  • 1 TB soy sauce
  • 1 1/2 cups of minced kimchee and 3 TB of kimchee liquid
  • Opt: any type of bite sized meat like beef, pork, chicken, or bacon (saute first if not cooked)
  • 2 green onions
  • Garnish: toasted sesame seeds, green onion, seaweed

Directions:

  1. In a small bowl, stir together onion, garlic, gochujang, sesame oil, and soy sauce.
  2. Heat a large pan with a little oil and cook the meat chosen (I had cold bulgogi so I just reheated it in a little oil on the pan)
  3. Add the bowl of seasonings to the pan and saute until onion and garlic are cooked through and translucent.
  4. Add kimchee and kimchee liquid into the pan and cook for about 10 minutes or until kimchee is very soft.
  5. Pour frozen cauliflower right into the pan and stir until well mixed and the whole dish is hot again. Make sure to stir and fluff the “rice”
  6. On a separate pan, fry an egg for each person. Serve the rice with a runny over easy or sunny side up egg over the top of the rice. Opt: Garnish with chopped green onion, toasted sesame seeds, and dried seaweed.

image17

One thought on “Kimchee Fried Rice with cauliflower

Leave a Reply

