Recipes

“Day off” doesn’t mean a day off from healthy living

As much as I love having the day off work, having a weekday all to myself does make it awful difficult to stay on track. It is a really good thing there is not much in my cupboards or fridge right now, because today was one of those days I could have just let it all go.

BUT I DIDN’T. WHOOO HOOO

I woke up late and parked myself on the couch where I told myself I could remain until Ryan came home from work and not feel any shame. However, knowing that my Hip Hop abs set came with a schedule, I really felt like I should get on with it. So I ate a hardboiled egg, had a handful of Inner Peas (baked snap peas from Trader Joes) and procrastinated for another hour. I managed to watch Bring it On Again and the latest Madame Secretary before I was ready to get moving. So 30 minutes of Hip Hop Abs and I was ready to move. I vacuumed the living room, bedroom, kitchen, and stairs. I threw in a load of laundry and took a shower. I am impressed with my own productivity on my day off.

Last night was Korean food with the family again. Now that we are all eating healthy, it does make life a lot easier ūüôā My mom and I spent a good 15 minutes on the phone earlier in the day trying to figure out something we all wanted that was also healthy. My cousin is a new pescatarian so we also were trying to come up with meatless options or modifications. We decided on bibimbap, another korean dish that is really healthy and tasty. Instead of rice, we used riced cauliflower. Man, this blog should just be a big ad for Trader Joes because that really is what it is turning into. If you havne’t discovered frozen riced cauliflower from Trader Joes, you might be the only one. And I say that because they are always out of it. They get two cases delivered a day and it is almost always gone by the time we get there after work. I used to think I didn’t like cauliflower but it is so different from the rubbery looking stuff you see left behind on veggie trays. The riced cauliflower makes it really easy to replace rice because it is mostly flavorless and the texture is soft and fluffy.

Bibimbap is a really popular Korean dish. It is made up of bulgogi, sauteed spinach, bean sprouts, carrots, mushrooms, and usually a little rice. We top it with a friend egg, sesame oil, and gochujang (Korean hot sauce).

IMG_2992IMG_2993

My mom threw in a bonus and made a delicious mushroom broth soup with a little soft tofu as well. I wish I could provide a recipe, but making korean food is not really my thing. My mom insists it is an art, not a science that can’t be replicated using recipes. Also, we cheated a little and bought some of the veggies pre-seasoned and cooked at the korean store.¬†This is the best link I can find for really easy and simple bibimbap but I recommend trying it at a restauarant first so you know what it is supposed to taste like.

Bibimbap- easy recipe from Blue Apron

Since my mom did all the prep work, I thought it was only fair that I make dessert so I made a chia seed pudding. It turned out pretty delicious despite me skimping on any form of sweetener. I used a tiny bit of real maple syrup and vanilla extract though.

IMG_2994

Chocolate Chia Seed Pudding

  • 1 cup unsweetened coconut milk
  • 1/4 cup chia seeds
  • 2 TB dark cocoa powder
  • 1 tsp maple syrup
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract

In a mason jar, add all the ingredients and give it a good stir. Add a lid and shake it at least once after it has been refrigerated for a couple hours. It needs about four hours at least to get to the right consistency.

The vanilla version is exactly the same except omit the cocoa powder and up the vanilla to a teaspoon. Layer them up and throw some raspberries on top. Very decadent for the healthiness involved.

I admit I could have done the pudding¬†prettier in a nice little glass where you could see the layers just for blogging purposes, but of course I suck at taking pictures and so all the ones of last night are thanks to my adorable snapchatting little sister who remembers to stop and make memories into photos. I watch Top Chef, so I know presentation is key, but who can remember to stop and clean and prettify when you just want to eat it…

Tonight, we are having soy ginger cod (TJs again) and baked bak choy. I LOVE bak choy. New obsession, like with the cauliflower. I tried it at a fancy restauarant in Long Beach, WA this past fall. They served it with scallops and polenta. Expensive meal and the bak choy was the best thing on the plate. This is the recipe I followed last time and it went great with fish.

Spicy Roasted Bak Choy

Ingredients

  • 1 large head of bok choy
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 2 tsp toasted sesame oil
  • 2-3 tbsp tamari¬†or soy sauce
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 tsp red pepper flakes
  • 2 tsp sesame seeds
  • salt and pepper to taste

Instructions

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees.
  2. Cut the bok choy into quarters lengthwise. In a small bowl, whisk together the rest of the ingredients.
  3. Place bok choy on a large baking sheet and pour the marinade all over the wedges. Gently rub the bok choy with your fingers to make sure the marinade gets under some of those layers.
  4. Roast for 6-7 minutes, until wilted and tender-crisp.

Borrowed from http://www.thewheatlesskitchen.com/spicy-roasted-bok-choy/

 

One thought on ““Day off” doesn’t mean a day off from healthy living

Leave a Reply

