Recipes

Fajita Steak Salad- paleo friendly!

So I had a couple mini tantrums yesterday…

I just couldn’t understand why after nearly 11 days of eating super healthy and clean and exercising, I HADN’T LOST A SINGLE OUNCE. I know, when I say 11 days, it doesn’t sound like a lot. In my defense, this had never happened to me before. I could always lose a pound a week eating like this. I guess being 26 and losing the same 10 lbs over and over again is starting to have a real impact. So yeah, I ranted a little (lot) in a group email to family about it. Ranted to my sister over the phone. Ranted to my husband who insists I look fine (a little delusional and sweet that guy is). Rant texted my bff who told me I was being an idiot.

But then, I stepped on the scale this morning and BAM, 182.4. From 185 the other morning to 182.4 today. So weird. 2 lbs all at once? Stupid body…

My sister is insisting on taking away my scale. It is so hard though because when the number goes down, it is SO motivating. But when it stays the same or heaven forbid, it goes up? All hell breaks loose in my brain. I am really glad to see that I lost a little though as I head into weekend #2. I am going to need some heavy willpower this weekend. Lunch with my sis and future brother in law at a thai restauarant and dinner at Din Tai Fung (dim sum) for dinner. All in one day. I know how to eat somewhat healthy at asian restaurants, but I know alllllll about the added secrets sugars and sauces. So I will be chugging water and keeping up with the hip hop abs.

Last night was fajita steak salad night. So good and really filling. I was lucky that we had just enough left over for my lunch today. This salad is an adaptation of a salad they make at a restaurant called Jimmy Macs near our house. It is one of those “throw your peanut shells on the ground and bring hot, fresh rolls to your table with loads of sweet honey butter” places. In other words, I can’t go there for their salad anymore.

I love this salad because it is an entire meal. Very fulfilling. I admit, it is a bit of work for a salad, but so worth it. Over the summer when we were re-doing our kitchen floors and I had no stove or oven for 2 ENTIRE WEEKS, I made this salad at least four times in that time period. So easy to make on the grill and little side cooktop our bbq has. I was able to have a friend come over for dinner during our kitchen-less time due to this recipe and our trusty bbq.

image6
Fajita Steak Salad

 

Ingredients

  • Spring mix or any other greens (I throw in a little romaine when I have it)
  • Cherry tomatoes, handful
  • EVOO or coconut oil
  • 1 red onion (yellow is fine in a pinch)
  • 2 bell peppers
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • Bleu cheese
  • 1 Avocado
  • ***Opt. Hardboiled egg
  • Flank steak, flat iron, or ribeye (I typically buy any pre-marinated at Trader Joes or Safeway). I always buy enough for about 4 servings so there is leftover for a protein snack. If you buy it plain, season with salt and pepper or your favorite steak seasoning
  • Homemade vinaigrette or Ranch dressing (small cheat)

Directions:

  1. Grill instructions: turn on grill and wait until it is really hot. Put your steak on. Put on a timer so you can flip it over in 5-8 minutes depending on how thick your steak is. Cook until perfectly pink in the middle (or well done). Cast iron skillet instructions: Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Heat up your cast iron skillet on the stovetop. Add a little EVOO. Brown your steak so that it has a nice crust on it. Once both sides are nice and crusty brown, put the cast iron skillet in the oven. Bake until it is as pink as you want it. Our steaks were over an inch thick so it took about 15 minutes in the oven to get to medium rare.
  2. Slice onions into thin slices. Heat up a pan with a little oil. When it is hot, add onions on medium high heat and saute until slightly caramelized. Sprinkle a little salt and pepper over onions as they soften. This light caramelization usually takes me about 10 minutes. Put onions into a separate bowl.
  3. Slice bell peppers into thin slices and add a little oil to the hot pan. Throw in the peppers and saute until cooked through (some people like their bell peppers still crisp, but I like them a tiny charred and pretty soft). Add bell peppers to the bowl of sauteed onions.
  4. Cut up cherry tomatoes, avocado, and opt. hard boiled egg. Toss on top of a big plate filled with salad greens. Add bleu cheese, onions, and peppers. Slice steak thinly and place on top of salad.
  5. Add dressing and toss salad (I just do equal parts oil and vinegar and a little pink salt. I like to shake it together in a mason jar so if I have any leftover, I can put it in the fridge). Creamy ranch dressing is what the restaurant I go to serves it with, but I almost like the spring greens with vinaigrette instead. My trick is to buy flavored oils like garlic olive oil and truffle vinegar so it always tastes a little different. I get pretty tired of EVOO with balsamic vinegar. 

***I have been keeping hardboiled eggs on hand for a quick protein boost lately and it is really helping me stay on track. I love using my pressure cooker to quickly and cleanly get them perfect. They peel soooooo easily when I make them in the electric pressure cooker. I got a little green ring this time because I set the timer for a little too long, but still perfect consistency. About 6 minutes in the pressure cooker with natural release! –> http://www.hippressurecooking.com/cracked-soft-medium-and-hard-boiled-eggs-in-the-pressure-cooker/

image9.jpeg
Roasted Garlic EVOO and Truffle Vinegar

PS. I realized yesterday that the most impressive thing about food bloggers is their ability to make their kitchen and cook space look clean in photos. I have no idea how they do it and I am going to stop trying. I am messy and my pictures are taken with an iPhone.  Amateur blogger.

PPS. That was the last of my fancy oils… I think I am going to make my own starting next week! I am no longer spending money Winter Break style (educators reading this will understand what I mean) so time to be thrifty with my gourmet oils. 

6 thoughts on “Fajita Steak Salad- paleo friendly!

  1. Salad does look incredible!!

    I know what you mean about getting frustrated about not seeing changes on the scale when you feel like you’re putting in a lot of hard work! The scale is soooo tricky because it can really set a mood for a day. I had to make myself only weigh in once a week otherwise I would go to crazy looking at the numbers. Awesome job dropping 2lbs and sticking with you lifestyle changes!!

    1. Thanks Jess! Ahh yeah the scale 😦 so controversial lol! It really can set the tone for your day. I’m glad you have the willpower to only check once a week. I’m going to really try to model myself after you and do the same… Starting tomorrow…:)

Leave a Reply

