Recipes

First Weekend of my new life

Weekends are difficult. Without my weekday schedule keeping me on track, it can be so hard to just. not. eat.

Friday dinner was salmon, green beans, and a salad. Not the cheapest way to do it but the easiest. I bought the frozen wild caught king salmon that comes on its own cute little cedar board at Trader Joes. I like fish, but usually prefer it raw in the form of sashimi so I let other people do the seasoning and cook time estimating for me.

I pretty much prep green beans only in one way every time. Ever since I discovered Haricot Verts at Trader Joes for $2.99 a bag that you can microwave in 3 minutes and have perfect steamed green beans, I have had to go to TJ’s once a week JUST for the green beans. My Safeway only carries the big fat green beans and I am not a fan. These are perfectly thin, light, and cook perfectly each time.

Lemon Green Beans

  • 1 bag of green beans (I prefer haricot vert/french green beans)
  • half a lemon
  • 1 TB EVOO
  • 1 tsp garlic salt
  • 1 tsp garlic powder
  • Couple grinds or shakes of black pepper
  1. Steam or microwave your green beans until cooked.
  2. squeeze half a lemon and EVOO over the green beans and toss until coated. You just want the green beans wet enough to have the seasonings stick.
  3. Season with garlic salt and powder (you can substitute salt or Johnny’s if you don’t have garlic salt)

IMG_2927

I forgot to take a picture before I started digging in… new at blogging clearly.

The salad was just a mish mash of what I had in the fridge. Some cut up cherry tomatoes, a hard boiled egg, a little bit of bacon bits, and a couple TB of bleu cheese. The dressing was actually super delicious. Over winter break, I broke down and bought a bottle of fancy oil and vinegar at one of the speciality food stores in the mall. They were a tiny bit pricey for my liking, but I knew healthy eating was coming and I am pretty tired of EVOO and balsamic vinegar dressing.

I think the oil is roasted garlic and the vinegar is like a truffle vinegar? I just tried every single sample until I found a combo that I thought would taste good on veggies. I did a dash of salt and pepper and tossed it into the salad. As someone who doesn’t really like salad or raw vegetables that much, it means a lot when I say I liked it. The salad was the only thing I had a second helping of.

When I got home from work around 3pm, I was actually in the mood to work out. Yeah I know, weird right? I had drank my Shakeology for lunch and a lot of water throughout the day so I was feeling pretty energetic. BUT Shaun T’s T25 Total Body Circuit damn near killed me. Wow. I mean I thought I was going to be okay because the Speed 1.0 the day before was manageable, but total body circuit was a different story. I did it like 80% and there were still moments where I was in the fetal position on the ground wondering “why??!?!?!?!?!?!” I am somewhat sore today but not as much as I would have been if I had actually been able to keep up with the workout. I supplemented for my fetal position breaks by doing about 15 minutes of dance cardio I found on Youtube and streamed on the Chromecast. This one was fun 🙂 I did it twice. I didn’t know how to do this dance before. I try really hard not to be trendy just to be trendy, but she worked the song into a decent quick workout.

Fitness with Jessica- Whip and Nae Nae

Also, I finally remembered to take a before photo after getting all gross from working out. I took one in my sports bra for my own personal use but I can’t bring myself to post it online. NOT because I am embarrassed (although I am a tiny bit), but because as a high school counselor, no one preaches more than me about photos on the internet and how they never go away. If one of my students got a hold of the photo, I think that might be bad? At least frowned upon by my school district I am going to assume. 

To be honest, it is pretty disappointing when I can’t keep up. Even though I have always had a layer of fat over my muscles, I was never really worried about my fitness. In high school, I had a generally athletic lifestyle for a part time gymnast and full time cheerleader. There was nothing I “could not” do. I was born flexible and despite my weight I could do back and front handsprings on command. NOW, 26 and 30 lbs later, I can’t do a 25 minute workout all the way out? Crazy.

In fact, just to prove a point, I am going to do something ridiculously embarrassing. There is a video of me on youtube my bff took in high school. This was at the end of my junior year when I had put on about 10-15 lbs. I am the asian in the middle. I have never shared this video in any way, shape, or form. My family and bff and I guess random people on YouTube know it exists. I am a little embarrassed by it actually. The only reason I let my friend leave it on youtube is because I think it is important that bigger girls out there know that it doesn’t have to stop you from doing athletic! You can jump, kick, tumble, and dance.

Michelle’s cheer tryout 2007

So now I need to come to terms with the fact that I let myself go to the point where I can’t keep up. That is a problem for me. I always prided myself on being a bigger endomorph who could keep up with the pack. Now that that is not true, I have to make a real change. Thank goodness that my Hip Hop abs video is set to arrive tonight. Only $30 on Amazon Prime and all the reviews say it will really help me with my core. Looking at the workouts I have been struggling with, I am finding that core is my biggest problem spot. Anything that looks like a plank is KILLING me. So I am hoping to tighten up my core and get some cardio in. I will report back on the quality of the workout!

Today’s plan is get some walking in by going to the dog park with our dog and godchildren, Jaden and Lukas.

We are blessed to have two beautiful godchildren, 6 and 8. They are so fun and cute and just really good, sweet kids. They just love our dog Teddy Bear. My best friend, whose name is also Michelle, is their mom and we are all going to go walking and get a greek salad for lunch at a place we like in Tacoma. My plan is to use half the dressing provided since they give it on the side! I will try to remember to take a picture…

 

2 thoughts on “First Weekend of my new life

  1. Michelle, this blog is freaking amazing…I am learning so much about green beans,your crazy ass experiences with T25 🙂 and your thoughts a out high school life. So cool. I luv every single thing about it!!! Wow. This is work though writing all this!

  2. T25 is so tough!! It’s a great workout and I’m sure if you stick with it you’ll notice a big change! I did that one last year and it was cool being able to see how gradually I was able to do more and more of the workout.

    Love your blog!! Very inspiring!! So cool 🙂

Leave a Reply

