Recipes

Taco Omelette

Taco Omelette

So delicious and low carb. You will not even know you are being healthy!

Last weekend, my husband and I went to get breakfast at a diner in Des Moines that he has been going to as a kid. We have been there many times, but usually I order burgers, fries, or meatloaf. Yeah, I wasn’t trying that hard back then. Being on a low-carb kick, I checked out their egg section and was surprised to see something called a taco omelette. Intrigued, I ordered it without questions, but added on avocado (it was a Saturday, I deserved a little treat). This is the part where I am supposed to tell everyone how delicious it was and that I was blown away by the ingenuity and taste. Eh, it was okay. The concept was so there! But being a small mom and pop diner, it took some shortcuts like jarred salsa. But now I had the idea down, and that is all it took to create this beauty. Here is my enhanced version of a Taco Omelette. The husband loves it and that is actually a huge accomplishment because no one loves tacos like Ryan. And he is a purist. I am pretty sure he ignores the existence of taco salads. But that will tell you how taco-like this omelette is. This would be perfect to make with leftover taco ingredients. Being me and difficult though, I made it for this weekend’s breakfast.

Taco Omelette for Two

  • 4 eggs (the second time I made this, I used 3 eggs and 2 egg whites I had leftover from separating and I could not tell a difference)
  • Salt for seasoning
  • Olive oil
  • 1/2 lb Ground turkey (or ground beef, but we prefer ground turkey in my family)
  • Taco seasoning (we like McCormick’s Hot, but I try to make my own when I have time)
  • Half a bell pepper, chopped
  • Half an onion, chopped
  • Cheddar cheese, shredded
  • Cilantro, rough chop
  • Tomato, diced
  • Fresh salsa
  • Sour cream
  • Avocado or guacamole
  1. Start browning meat and follow directions for taco seasoning.
  2. Saute chopped onions and bell pepper in olive oil and sprinkle with a little salt. I like kosher!
  3. Whisk eggs together well and add pinch of salt.
  4. Heat 8″ish sized pan to low and spray with olive oil preferably.
  5. Slowly add half the eggs to pan and swirl pan to get eggs distributed evenly. Once it is spread out, “sprinkle” desired amount of meat to half of omelette.
  6. On other side, sprinkle cheddar cheese onto the egg that is cooking. This will keep the meat warm and cheese melting.
  7. Add chopped tomatoes, sauteed veggies, and cilantro to the omelette.
  8. When the egg is almost all the way cooked through, use whatever technique and tools necessary to fold the omelette in half. (I use two spatualas, my fingers, and a weird pan waving technique)
  9. Let the omelette cook on each side for another minute or two. I like to get a decent golden brown on my eggs just for looks.
  10. Top or side the omelette with a little more cheese, fresh salsa, and slices of avocado. Place sour cream on side.

And enjoy your breakfast taco 🙂 I can’t believe that the avid baker I am, that this is my first recipe on my blog, but  I have to share this. There are just so many variations of this I could do to fit my healthy eating that I am hoping someone else benefits from such a good idea.

TIPS:

  • I made my own salsa the first time just because I had the ingredients. So easy to chop up tomatoes, a few jalopenos, juice a lime, add a little salt and pepper. I usually add a little onion, but I got lazy on the chopping that morning
  • Taco seasoning homemade is best for these projects because I make a random amount of meat, rather than the standard 1 lb. Also, if you are avoiding carbs, sometimes taco seasoning has thickening agents that you might want to be careful of.
  • Don’t make a huge mess in your kitchen and take an hour to make breakfast…just wait till you have taco leftovers.
2 thoughts on “Taco Omelette

Leave a Reply

